Practical Application of Worldview: Present Yourself

I was sitting at a Bible study where a group of people were talking about the concept of presenting yourself as a spiritual sacrificed to Christ—-the voluntary giving up of yourself to Christ. In the past, we have talked about how even though we have given something to the Lord, often we find that at some point we have taken it back again. During this study, I was struggling through the reality that I had given my work to God but had at some point taken myself and my future back. As I sat there listing, I realized I needed to again present myself (sacrifice myself) to Him and allow Him to be my Master (because my unwillingness to again fully surrender myself to Him was stripping me of all my joy). It’s not easy to surrender, especially when you want something from Him and instead you must give everything back to Him. But the reality is, there is no happiness clinging to serving Him if you cannot surrender to Him. Too often I have a heart for a Christian mission, and I miss the surrendered Christ-centered heart, a far more important goal.

Rom 12:1 “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.”

2 Co 4:5-6 “For we do not preach ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord, and ourselves your bondservants (a voluntary forever slave) for Jesus’ sake. For it is the God who commanded light to shine out of darkness, who has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.”

1 Peter 2: 15-17 “For this is the will of God, that by doing good you may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men— as free, yet not using liberty as a cloak for vice, but as bondservants of God. Honor all people. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the king.” (Basically, by doing good as bondservants, we may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men.)

Challenge: Have you presented yourself as a living sacrifice? Are you a bondservant with a Christ-centered heart?

This entry was posted in Worldview. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

